So how big are we?

The games gone crazy has a massive debate started about who is bigger us or Leeds Utd? How do we determine who is bigger? They are harping on the past and keep bringing up old trophies (that’s all they’ve got!) but in my opinion that doesn’t determine how big a club is present day.

Only way I can kind of make an estimation is fanbase. The more they like you the bigger you are surely? Lets be honest we don’t win much but we have a hell of a fanbase so there must be something pretty massive about this club. Fuck Leeds I’m over them but lets compare ourselves against the PL opposition.

I thought I had this idea in my head of an estimated fanbase of 1.5million. The club has 700k fans on it’s data base in the UK, I don’t know how many West Ham fans are on facebook I’d love to know because that gives you a pretty good idea as well but I’ve doubled the 700k to get a world wide idea.

Then I read that Everton have a fanbase of 15million!! I’m not saying we have a bigger support but we’re not too far away surely!? According to a Sunderland forum the WW fanbase is as follows… Man United, Liverpool, Arsenal, Chelsea, Spurs and then West Ham.

From a Sunderland forum
From a Sunderland forum

Another way of determining the size of a club is the amount of forums and blogs a club has. Checking out google we actually edge Everton in numbers, Their main forum (Toffietalk) has 5300 members . Wonder how many members KUMB has? Its a debate that will rage on but we are top 10 in the UK surely!

This entry was posted by theboleyninheritance.

5 thoughts on “So how big are we?

  1. Having spent a number of years in Cardiff and now in Auckland, I’d agree with that assessment (in terms of number of replica shirts I see and people I meet). My experience is that West Ham edge Spurs but that will no doubt change given the respective fortunes of the two clubs in recent years.

  2. I wouldn’t say we’re a bigger club than the yids, far from it. But my experience is that I see more West Ham in far flung places than Spurs. A lot of it, I suspect, relates to our history (Bobby Moore, the World Cup trio) – have had countless people say to me “I don’t know why, but I’ve always supported West Ham”. It’s the same reason why we’ve been many people’s second team over the years.

    In Cardiff, probably fair to say that some of the West Ham support related to a different part of our history (think national train network).

  3. What a thick hypocrite you are, bringing up old trophies? The only claim to fame West Spam have is the fatc you pretend you won the world cup 50 years ago. Leeds have fans all over the British Isles and aroudn the world. There is a Leeds fans group in Norway. I don’t think West Ham could get capacity crowds in League One, like Leeds were getting. The only reason crowds have fallen at leeds is because of the controversy over the last year with Ken Bates. Try being in the championship for 9 years and still have a big a fanbase as Leeds have

Leave a comment